One Thing

In my younger days during the 1960’s, quite a few British bands invaded the United States with names like the Beatles, Herman’s Hermits, and the Rolling Stones.  Everywhere they went, American females wept, screamed, and poured out their love and devotion in ways that were surprising, humorous, or even shocking. Well, get ready…evidently a new invasion has begun. The group’s name is New Direction, and it consists of five young men who speak with British accents so thick that mid-westerners like me must listen with a very tuned ear when they speak to understand what they are saying. But once these boys start to sing you can catch every word.

The young girls are swooning again. To quote one article I read, those “Directioners” are giving true “Beliebers” a run for their money in the emotions gone wild department. I am no fan of Perez Hilton, but this video montage on his site will give you a taste of the devotion female adolescents are expressing toward the boys in the band.

New Direction has a fresh hit titled “One Thing.” Below are a few of the lyrics:

Something’s gotta give now
‘Cause I’m dying just to know your name
And I need you here with me now
‘Cause you’ve got that one thing

So get out, get out, get out of my head
And fall into my arms instead
I don’t, I don’t, don’t know what it is
But I need that one thing

So get out, get out, get out of my mind
And come on, come into my life
I don’t, I don’t, don’t know what it is
But I need that one thing
And you’ve got that one thing

The tune is very catchy, and I get why any swooning female tweenager would feel like Liam or Harry (two of the boys in the group) is singing it just to her. The vocalist doesn’t even know the name of the person to whom this song is written, but he needs her. In his mind is an idea, a conception of the one thing he most wants, and by looking at the girl he knows she’s got it.

Isn’t this typical of human nature? All of us conjure up images and perceptions of the one thing that will make us happy, that will satisfy our deepest needs, wants, and dreams. The perfect person, the new car, the ultimate vacation…any of these things can take our minds and hearts captive if we let them. The psalmist, David, in Psalm 27:4, poetically expresses the one thing that he believes will truly satisfy and is worth seeking after:

One thing have I asked of the LORD,
that will I seek after:
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD
all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD
and to inquire in his temple.

(Psalm 27:4 ESV)

In the story of Mary and Martha, told by Luke in his gospel, Jesus reasons with Martha who is frustrated because her sister, Mary, is not helping her with all of the chores associated with hosting the guests who came to their home to listen to Jesus. I can picture Jesus, taking her by the hand while looking with understanding into her eyes and explaining:

“Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

(Luke 10:41-42 ESV)

“One thing is necessary…” The good portion Mary chose which will not be taken away, which will last for eternity, is the same thing that David desired. To dwell eternally in the house of the Lord while gazing upon His beauty will be the most ultimately satisfying experience in the universe. How rewarding it is and will be for us to focus our full desires on the Savior of our souls! He alone can meet our deepest needs. He’s the only being whose got the one thing we need!

Leave a Reply

