You Never Know What a Day Might Bring – Part 6

It’s been over a year since the heart attack I suffered while hang gliding (see the “Heart Attack 3/6/09” link on the right).  In regards to flying, I did return to the skies about 6 weeks after the event, and even though I never get to fly as often as I like, I was still able to put in over 10 hours of air time during 2009.  I set a personal altitude record of over 6,000 feet, and my longest flight of 2009 was about 2 hours and 20 minutes.  You can see a music video of some footage I shot of that flight by clicking here.  It was a fantastic day of foot-launched hang gliding at the Richmond Dale ridge (the same location where I had the heart attack) with five other Ohio Flyer pilots.

Coming in for a landing at the ridge.

A few days after that flight I had a six- month follow up appointment with my cardiologist, Dr. Mehta.  His nurse took an echo-cardiogram reading of my heart, and I waited anxiously as Dr. Mehta read the results.  He said “This is fantastic.  If I didn’t know better, I’d say your heart muscle has never suffered any damage!”  Donna and I were thrilled.  Even so, Dr. Mehta still insisted that I maintain a medicine regimen that included beta blockers for at least six more months.  I do not like the effect that beta blockers have on my mental clarity and energy levels, but I guess I’d better follow orders.  After all, it was my own insistence of reducing medications that got me into this predicament in the first place.

As I look back on this past year, I am as firm believer in the sovereignty of God as ever.  I may never know all the reasons or long-term effects of my scary experience, but God does and I trust Him.  This blog was prompted by my forced time off, and I’ve got a revised perspective on the precarious nature of life.  As the title of these chapters in my blog indicate you never know what a day might bring.  Any of us could wake up in the morning and get out of bed for the last time, because the events of that day just might propel us into the eternal presence of our Lord.

I have a fascination with studying what the Bible says about the end of the world, and I’m convinced that the popular view that we are living in the last days is entirely wrong.  I may write more about this topic in my blog.  But what intrigues me is how so many dear believers, when asked why they are so excited about their belief that we are living in the last days, say “I just can’t wait to be with the Lord in eternity!”  Well, I agree.  Being in the eternal presence of Jesus will be something wonderfully beyond our ability to comprehend.  If I challenge someone’s view by saying that, scripturally, I think this world will go on for hundreds, if not thousands, of years, the person usually acts dismayed and even angered.  It seems that many Christians have a mentality that it’s all going to be over soon, and our troubles in this world will go away when Jesus come to rapture us off the face of the earth.  Well, brothers and sisters, take heart!  Even though the end of the world may not come for a long, long time, I’m here to tell you that I have tiptoed right up to the edge of eternity, and we are all that close to dying every living, breathing moment.  You never know when the Lord might call YOU home, so you would be wise to live every day like it could be your last!

Leave a Reply

